The RTE Francis McManus Award

The competition, which was founded to commemorate the writer and broadcaster, Francis Mac Manus, has been a source of encouragement and inspiration to thousands of emerging writers over the years and continues to offer a platform for the best of new Irish writing.

This year’s Francis McManus Award received 810 entries which were eventually whittled down to a shortlist of 25 short stories by panelists Molly McCloskey, John MacKenna and Alan Titley. The three finalists are:

  • Austin Duffy from Dudalk, the Francis McManus Award winner with Orca (read by Diarmuid Murtagh)
  • Patrick Griffin from Kilkenny City, in 2nd place with Platform 17, Grand Central Station (read by Susan Zalouf)
  • Andrew Fox from Skerries, Co. Dublin, in 3rd place with Seven Steps Home – (read by David Croakly)

Congratulations to the finalists for demonstrating that the short story and literary tradition celebrated in Ireland is well and truly alive.


Filed under Awards

2 responses to “The RTE Francis McManus Award

  1. Huge congratulations to all the winners! Am really looking forward to hearing the stories broadcast…

  2. The stories are great – well deserving of the award. I’m sure you’ll enjoy them, June – Elizabeth Rose Murray

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s