25 things about me by Susan ‘Brave Beauty’ Zelouf

1. I think I’m gorgeous.
2. My nickname as a little girl was Pants Down, because I’d take them off at the drop of a hat.
3. I used to have a collection of marble eggs that I kept in a brown paper bag.
4. I wish I’d never seen Requiem for a Dream.
5. I’m completely fake and extremely flammable.
6. I am hypersensitive to smell, but like a dog, smells interest me.
7. I’ve been wearing a variation of the same black outfit since I was 12.
8. I have to have a getaway vehicle; my top two skills are riding a bike and driving a car.
9. I only have good-looking friends.
10. My therapist says I don’t have an eating disorder, I just need a personal assistant.
11. I don’t have a therapist.
12. My other nickname as a little girl was Sad Sack.
13. I struggle with depression, although most people who know me or think they do don’t see it.
14. My favorite view is my husband’s face.
15. Most of my family is rabidly Republican, so I must be a changeling.
16. I love to dance more than anything.
17. I go weak in the presence of alpha males.
18. My perfume is a discontinued Givenchy scent first given to me by a celebrated Polish film director, who’d become intoxicated by it back in the day, as he danced with a Playboy bunny after a win at Cannes.
19. I often dream about what my children would’ve looked like.
20. I was a fast baby, and there’s nothing I hate more than being held back.
21. I wear lipstick to bed.
22. I am prone to inappropriate crushes.
23. Included in my funeral playlist: Eartha Kitt singing C’est Si Bon and Jobim’s Waters of March, played and sung by Elis Regina.
24. For my last supper, I’ll have the veal chop and chips at Marco Pierre White’s on Dawson Street, with a glass of Valpolicella.
25. I’m good at just about anything I choose to do, but I’m afraid of greatness.

Susan ‘Brave Beauty’ Zelouf
www.voicetattoo.com
www.zeloufandbell.com

Susan Zelouf will be reading “Platform 17 – Grand Central Station” by Patrick Griffin from Kilkenny City. the second prize story in the RTÉ Francis MacManus Award, on Friday, 16th September at 5pm in The Ballroom, Metropole Hotel, Cork

About Susan Zelouf…

American voice artist, writer and designer Susan Zelouf graduated from the State University of New York, College at Purchase with a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Theatre Arts and Film. Miss Zelouf lived and worked in New York, Rome, Los
Angeles and Belfast before settling in Ireland with her husband, furnituremaker Michael Bell. A freelance programme maker and frequent contributor to RTE radio, credits include a weekly slot on The Monday 7.02 Show, Sunday Miscellany, The Arts Show, The Sunday Show, Inside Out, Off the Shelf, Round Midnight, Sound Stories, Another Time Another Space, contributor to the
Prix Italia winning documentary Dreaming of Fat Men, as well as compiling and presenting her own summer series’ – Women in the Spotlight and The Susan and Flo Show. Her documentary Jew was broadcast as part of Tim Lehane’s series Full Duck No Dinner. She’s written for The Living Word, Hi Noon (writer-in-residence), The Irish Times, and the Sunday Miscellany anthology.
Miss Zelouf featured in Crazy Dog Audio Theatre series Big Big Space, animated films and television series’ including Freefonix on CBBC, the radio play The Deathday Party, and narrated The Gates, Bumpwoman, Guitar and Platform 17: Grand Central Station. Her voice may be heard on several film soundtracks and she co-wrote an award-winning horror film. She wrote and produced the musical theatre piece In Bed and Bored at the River Club for the Dublin
Fringe Festival.

As a vocalist, Zelouf has appeared in clubs internationally. Catch her Supper Club set, an eclectic mix with sounds from Bacharach to Bono, ballroom to Brazilian, acapella to Arabic pop.

In preproduction, Intimate Apparel is a blend of song and spoken word, featuring some of the many provocative pieces Susan Zelouf has written for RTE radio over the past several years. She brings these essays on life to life in her new hour-long show; hotels, angels, American football, shopping, magazines, percolators, thecolour red, cactii, swans and marriage, buying art… Miss Zelouf
riffs on the beauty and absurdity of just about anything, and sings to God.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Awards

One response to “25 things about me by Susan ‘Brave Beauty’ Zelouf

  1. I too wish I’d never seen Requiem for a Dream. Such a bleak view of humanity…
    And I also struggle with depression, although most people who know me, or claim to, would never realise this.
    I haven’t read Susan’s work but I will now. Something about her seems to chime with me.

Leave a Reply

